My CafeHopping Stint

O.M.G! I have not been blogging for such a long time! Nope, I have not forsaken this space.  Let me just consolidate and share my reviews of 8 cafes I have recently visited here – all at one go! (NB: In random order, in case u read too much in between the lines)

The Assembly Ground Cafe
This cafe is located just next to its Assembly Store that’s a multi-label store selling a wide range of clothes, bags, accessories, etc.  I visited the cafe when K was there for another reason…to buy the bag he was eyeing for awhile at the Assembly Store, his latest favourite.

Back on track:  The cafe has nice and cosy ambience. Though it’s a lil dim for my standard.  I like the Green Tea Latte! The mushroom panini was nice too.  As for the crowd, it is located at The Cathay, so what do u think? *wink*  I would recommend to those who want to spend time with a couple of friends on a lazy weekend afternoon.  Check it out 🙂

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  3.5/5
Beverage & Food:  4/5
Cost:  3.5/5 (1- not worth; 5 – value-for-money…according to Tottz’ spending power) 

20140622_141341  20140622_140559 20140622_140633 PhotoGrid_1403417410475

Carpenter & Cook
This cafe serves quiches!! I was instantly excited and ordered 2 for sharing; the cheese and bacon as well as the cherry tomato. Though my number 1 is still the one at TWG, this is not too bad.  The highlight is actually the choc sea salt caramel and lemon tart.  Heavenly! I like it so much that I packed them home for K.  We’ve been there previously but don’t think we tried the tarts then.  The latte is normal.  For selfie and we-fie guys, this cafe offers a very nice ambience with pretty ‘props’ and background for photo taking.  My gal friends were all busy taking photos of almost everything in the cafe even when the food were served.  If you have time for a cuppa and pastries, come here for happy food & fun shots with your buddies!

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  4/5
Beverage & Pastries:  4/5
Cost:  3/5

2014-07-17 13.29.24 20140717_133000 20140717_133026IMG-20140717-WA0009

Coast and Company
I’m often confused over the name of this place – Coastliner or Coast Cycles or Coast and Company?? This is a two-in-one kind of cafe where part of the cafe is a bicycle shop (Coast Cycles) and the other part is the actual dining area (Coast and Company). Since Siglap is near our place, we swing by on a weekend morning to have brunch.  I like the ‘clean’, simplistic and spacious feel of this cafe.  But I find there’s not many choices for me in terms of food. So I ordered the Almond Peanut Butter Toast while K had the Beef Rendang Hotdog.  Yummy!  The latte was nice too.  Maybe I’m biased cos it’s affiliated to Papa Pahelta 🙂  I’ll certainly be back soon!

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  4/5
Beverage & Food:  4/5
Cost:  3.5/5

20140629_094642  IMG-20140629-WA0001  
IMG-20140629-WA0000  IMG_0232_zpsc40cda9d
IMG-20140629-WA000220140629_100622

Brawn & Brains
Another cafe that’s nearby our place. We’re really in for treats 🙂  Just next to the former Badminton Association at MacPherson, B&B is small and inconspicuous.  Apart from two long tables, there are only small chairs and side tables.  But that didn’t stop a family of 3 from sitting outside the entrance for an alfresco feel. Hmmm….

Seems like they roast different coffee beans everyday.  We got to choose between 2 different types of coffee beans and K loved the coffee so much that he ordered a 2nd helping.  It was a pity that we were too early and were told that sandwiches would only be served after 10am. So we ordered the croissants to go with our latte. I’m sure their panini would be yummy as well, on my next comeback!

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  3/5
Beverage & Pastries:  4/5
Cost:  4/5

2014-07-19 09.42.15

Jones The Grocer
Saw this cafe at ION Orchard but didn’t visit it then.  I eventually got the chance to go to the other outlet at Dempsey Hill. Well, not as up market as the former outlet, if you ask me. But I like the feel here better.  Perhaps, it’s due to its colonial setting and high ceilings, it is very spacious.  Apart from the food, the merchandise displayed at the place also took some waiting time off us as we walked around the cafe checking out what it has to offer.  Very tempted by the cutesy candies, chocs and stuff but I managed to stop myself, haha.

We did not order the food.  We only went there for drinks and desserts.  The lemon meringue tart was delicious!

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  3.5/5
Beverage & Pastries:  4/5
Cost:  3.5/5

PhotoGrid_1404565028157

Brew Maison
A friend wanted to give me a bday treat and threw a popular food blog to me so that I can choose which newly opened cafe I wanted to go.  Most of the cafes listed in the blog only serve drinks and desserts; no proper food.  While scrolling the photos, my attention was locked at a cutesy 3D latte art of a cat (though yours truly is not really a cat-lover).  And, this cafe serves fusion Jap-Korean food and beverages.  Cool!

To our disappointment, we didn’t get the latte art even though we ordered its popular Taro latte.  We accepted the fact that perhaps the artist was not there till later cos we saw another group of gals had theirs (awww!).  The food is mediocre, I would say. Just like the food blogger has recommended, only the Tori Bite (aka self-made chic nuggets -> middle pic of the left column below) can make it. Oh well, I may not want to revisit this place that is residing within the Alocassia Apartments, Bukit Timah Road.  I would think its largest clientele would be the SCGS gals as it offers spacious and a pretty haven for homework and assignments 🙂

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  4/5
Beverage & Food:  2.5/5
Cost:  3.5/5

brewmaison1

<photo above from danielfooddiary>

 20140621_124527 20140621_130501 20140621_130614 20140621_130621 20140621_131353 20140621_131400

Craftsmen Specialty Coffee
“This place got class!” was my 1st impression as we approached its main entrance. I like its simplistic Scandinavian setting, furnishing; everything!  It is also spacious and neat – exactly for an OCD like yours truly.  I was instantly satisfied.  It is located within the new Siglap V condominium, so most of its customers are the residents living nearby.  As we were early, there was only simple food such as pastries and bread. So we ordered Hazelnut Latte, Almond Croissant and Sausage Bun. Noticed that they have no kitchen, so we presumed they must have sourced the food and Gryphon tea from vendors. Only the coffee is in-house. But we were not impressed by its coffee nor latte art, sorry.  Our heart still go fondly back to B&B and we liked the idea of being able to choose the freshly roasted coffee nut 🙂

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  4/5
Beverage & Pastries:  3.5/5
Cost:  3.5/5

2014-07-28 10.15.03

IMG-20140728-WA0006
I like the 2-in-1 concept of decorating the pipe this way

IMG-20140728-WA0007
Residents streaming in continuously for takeaway coffee

Bluespoon
Lately we received a flyer introducing a new cafe along Joo Chiat Road, called Bluespoon. I checked the website and interestingly, found that it provides an “online kitchen – express gourmet” segment.  Formerly known as Ulu Ulu Cafe Lounge at Loyang Crescent, it has just been rebranded as Bluespoon.  Went there for a light brunch and ordered fried jap breaded shrimps with fries. I liked it.  K ordered nan with lamb shank. Not bad, he said.  The seats on level 2 offer a warm, cosy and homely feel.  Bluespoon is nestled along the famous Joo Chiat strip of old yet characteristic shophouses.  Spend your lazy weekend afternoon here if you are in search of peace and tranquillity!

Tottz’ review
Ambience:  4/5
Beverage & Food:  3.5/5
Cost:  4/5

20140628_122905 20140628_122917

Leave a comment